Monday, April 9, 2012

LISTEN: The Big Beat 'cast 49


There are times when I'll choose to hold off posting a show to the blog due to (1) time commitments and (2) the belief that anything posted after mid-day on Thursday is generally lost to the abyss. With Easter weekend fast approaching, I just thought I'd hold off posting the most recent Beat'cast until today but definitely wanted to get it up before the new one (nudge) airs tomorrow.

So you're back in the office, draggin' ass and you want some new music, right? I gotcha. I'm playing two dozen new tunes on this show, 27 in all, including first appearances by DIRTY PROJECTORS, DEAR JOSEPH, THE NEIGHBOURHOOD, JAI PAUL, TRIPWIRES, OFF!, SCREAMING FEMALES, POST WAR YEARS, SUPREME CUTS, and PS I LOVE YOU. I'll also play new ones from EDWARD SHARPE and the MAGNETIC ZEROS and A PLACE TO BURY STRANGERS.

The Big Beat  premieres on DIY Radio (London) every Tuesday on 8p GMT, 3p Eastern and Noon Pacific, and in addition to listening to it archived on the blog here, you can hear it Fridays on Moheak Radio (Los Angeles) at 7a Pacific, 10a Eastern and 3p GMT.

And make a note to catch me on KUT 90.5 (Austin) Tuesday and Wednesday at 11p CT (Midnight Eastern, 5a GMT)* and Amazing Radio (Gateshead, England) Thursdays at 10p GMT, 6p Eastern.

*This week, hear me from 8-11p Central (9p-Midnight Eastern)  




DIRTY GHOSTS "Ropes That Way" (Last Gang), from Metal Moon (video)
DIRTY PROJECTORS "Gun Has No Trigger" (Domino), from Swing Lo Magellan
JAI PAUL "Jasmine" (XL), single
BEST COAST "The Only Place" (Mexican Summer), from The Only Place
EDWARD SHARPE AND THE MAGNETIC ZEROS "Man On Fire" (Community), from Here
THEME PARK "Ghosts" (Transgressive), from Wax EP (free download)
AIR FRANCE "Collapsing At Your Doorstep" (Sincerely Yours), from No Way Down EP
TANLINES "Cactus" (True Panther), from Mixed Emotions
A PLACE TO BURY STRANGERS "You Are The One" (Dead Oceans), from Worship
FRANKIE ROSE "Night Swim" (Slumberland), from Interstellar
TRIPWIRES "Emerald" (self-released), free download (video)
YOOFS "Alt Waltz (demo) " (self-released), free download
KEEP SHELLY IN ATHENS "Just Like Honey" (Just Like Honey), from Just Like Honey
BRETON "Governing Correctly" (Fatcat), from Other People's Problems
LITTLE BARRIE "Tip It Over" (Tummy Touch), from King Of The Waves
WILLY MOON "Yeah Yeah" (Luv Luv Luv / Island), single (video)
THE NEIGHBOURHOOD "Sweater Weather" (self-released), tba (video)
SCREAMING FEMALES "Expire" (Don Giovanni), from Ugly
SISTERLAND "Milk & Honey" (Blessing Force), from Dirty White EP
PS I LOVE YOU "Princess Towers" (Paper Bag), from Death Dreams
KINNIE THE EXPLORER "Mardi Gras" (Alcohol), from Kinnie The Explorer
SUPREME CUTS "Lessons Of Darkness (Apology)" (Dovecote), from Whispers In The Dark
WILD BELLE "Keep You" (Sandhill Sound), single 
POST WAR YEARS "Volcano" (self-released), Live 360 Session EP (free download)
THE WEDDING PRESENT "You're Dead" (Scopitones), from Valentina
OFF! "King Kong Brigade" (Vice), from OFF!
DEARJOSEPH "Winter In Mexico City" (self-released), free download


Music via: Fluxblog, La Nueva Escuela, Chromewaves, EARMILK, Austin Town Hall, XLR8R, Pitchfork

3 comments:

  1. mike, i just finished listening to #48 'cast, and i'm REALLY excited about your invitation for the listeners to contribute tunes! hope you like my picks.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Super excited for this tour, such a big Best Coast fan! Would love to see Chappo support them, really digging their song “Come Home”

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fgo1nkGBejs

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thanks! Love the Air France.

    ReplyDelete