Wednesday, February 22, 2012

LISTEN: The Big Beat 'cast 43


I needed a moment to catch my breath last week, so that meant I doubled down on this week's show with premieres from JACK WHITE, HERE WE GO MAGIC, MIIKE SNOW (feat. Lykke Li),
MAPS & ATLASES, GRAHAM COXON, FRESHKILLS, MARIBEL, PLANTS AND ANIMALS, and RHYE.  My Wild Card pick is from an Ohio-born expat who’s kind of a legendary figure in the UK but known only to the most obsessive music nerds at home.

Just a reminder that starting this week (yesterday, in fact), TBB moves forward one hour on DIY Radio.   That means the show now airs at 8p GMT, 3pm Eastern, 2p Central, etc.  And also starting this week, The Big Beat will air on LA-based Moheak Radio every Friday morning from 7-9 Pacific (4p GMT, 11a ET).  More details on that in an upcoming post.    




ROYAL BATHS "Faster, Harder" (Kanine), from Better Luck Next Life
JACK WHITE "Love Interruption" (Third Man), from Blunderbuss 
LADYHAWKE "Black White & Blue" (Modular), from Anxiety
SLEIGH BELLS "Comeback Kid" (Mom + Pop), Reign Of Terror 
FRESHKILLS "Positive Vibes" (Bat Rabies Alert / The End), from Raise Up The Sheets
HERE WE GO MAGIC "Make Up Your Mind" (Secretly Canadian), from A Different Ship
WE HAVE BAND "Where Are Your People?" (Naive), from Ternion (free album sampler)
RHYE "Open" (Innovative Leisure), from Open EP
-> Mike's Wild Card Pick of the Week <-
MARIBEL "Jezebel Jive" (Splendour), from Reveries
FRIENDS "Friends Crush" (Lucky Number), single (video)
DJANGO DJANGO "Default" (Because), from Django Django
AZEALIA BANKS "NEEDSUMLUV (SXLND)" (self-released), free download
GRAHAM COXON "The Truth" (Parlophone), from A+E
TRAILER TRASH TRACYS  "Candy Girl" (Double Six / Domino), from Ester 
PLAITUM "She Speaks Spanish" (self-released), free download 
GRIMES "Vowels = Space and Time" (4AD), from Visions
MIIKE SNOW feat. Lykke Li "Black Tin Box" (Downtown), from Happy To You   
PLANTS AND ANIMALS "Lightshow" (Secret City), from The End of That
MAPS & ATLASES "Winter" (Barsuk), from Be Aware and Be Grateful
HEARTLESS BASTARDS "Parted Ways" (Partisan), from Arrow
TEAM ME "With My Hands Covering Both of My Eyes I Am Too Scared To Have a Look At You Now" (Propeller), from To The Treetops
TENNIS "It All Feels The Same" (Fat Possum), from Young and Old
M.I.A. "Bad Girls" (Interscope), single
SCHOOL OF SEVEN BELLS "Lafaye" (Vagrant), from Ghostory
LOS CAMPESINOS! "Hello Sadness" (Arts & Crafts/Wichita), from Hello Sadness

Music via:  Chromewaves, The Dadada, mu-sique, Winnie Cooper, Bedwetting Cosmonaut, The Last Python   

2 comments:

  1. I am really digging We Have Band - thanks Mike!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Picked up Django Django thanks to you, great show overall1

    ReplyDelete