Monday, September 20, 2010

Download New EP's from John Vanderslice and Pete & The Pirates

Music is good. Free is good. Free music is really good. Free and legal, I might add. Two artists, John Vanderslice and Pete & The Pirates, have just made their latest work available as free downloads.


Vanderslice, widely considered one of the nicest guys in music, offers up the six-song Green Grow The Rushes as both a 320kbps MP3 and an uncompressed WAV file. Each comes with artwork, lyrics and credits. It'll be available on vinyl next year. Get it here. The tracklisting:

1. Thule Fog [MP3]
2. I’ll Never Live Up To You
3. Pony Express
4. Streetlights
5. Lay Down
6. Penthouse Window


We last heard from Pete & The Pirates at the end of 2008 with the AA-side single "Jennifer" / "Blood Gets Thin". While they're putting the finishing touches on their yet-to-be-titled second album, they've launched a new website and have scheduled a few European dates, usually a good indicator that a release is imminent. In the meantime, they've posted four demos collectively titled Precious Tones, free to stream and download via Bandcamp.

1. Selina (Demo)
2. Blood From A Stone (Demo)
3. My Sun Hat (Demo)
4. Where Did You Go (Demo)

<a href="">Precious Tones (Demos) by Pete &amp; The Pirates</a>

As a reminder of how incredibly catchy P&TP are, here's two tracks from their WOXY session during SXSW 2009, in addition to the aforementioned "Blood Gets Thin".

Pete & The Pirates - "Jennifer" (Live @ [MP3]
Pete & The Pirates - "Mr. Understanding" (Live @ [MP3]

Pete & The Pirates - "Blood Gets Thin" by The Big Beat

1 comment:

  1. yay new pete and the pirates ... i was wondering what happened to them so great to see they're back ...